What is Michigan’s No-Fault Insurance Policy Requirements?
First and foremost, if you want to drive an automobile in Michigan, then you need insurance. You can’t even get your license plate without it.
It is a misdemeanor to drive without no-fault insurance.
Michigan is a “no-fault state,” which means that if you’re involved in a car accident, regardless of who is at fault, then you’re insurance policy will cover:
- Your physical injuries
- The damages your car has caused
- Damages that you’re found liable for
Michiganders, in exchange for suing for every type of auto accident that occurs, pay into the no-fault system and can only sue, or be sued, under certain circumstances:
- If he or she causes an accident in which someone is killed or seriously injured, or
- If he or she is involved in an accident in Michigan with a non-resident who is an occupant of a motor vehicle not registered in Michigan, or
- If he or she is involved in an accident in another state where lawsuits are permitted.
The minimum coverage Michigan allows under a no-fault insurance policy is:
- Bodily injuries: $20,000 per person / $40,000 per accident
- Property damage protection: $10,000 per accident
So, let’s break this down further.
Just because you have no-fault insurance does not mean that you’re insurance provider has to pay for your car’s damages in an accident. The no-fault part of no-fault insurance means that it doesn’t matter who causes the accident, but if you want your insurance company to pay for your car’s damages, then you need to purchase an additional policy for more protection.
If you’ve been injured in Detroit as a result of an automobile accident, or in the Detroit Metro areas in places like Southfield, Canton, Dearborn, South Haven, Flint, West Bloomfield, Bloomfield Hills, Rochester, South Lyon, or the surrounding areas, then contact our offices to get the recovery that you deserve.