Can You Text and Drive in Michigan?

Can You Text and Drive in Michigan?

by / Friday, 25 October 2013 / Published in Motor Vehicle Accidents, Tips

Uncle Sam poster saying I want you to turn off your cell phone

People often forget that in Michigan it’s illegal to text and drive. Did you know, according to the National Safety Council, that nearly 3 million people are injured in automobile accidents each year? That’s nearly 1 accident every minute.

Texting and driving is a substantial cause of these accidents, and Goodwin & Scieszka doesn’t want you to be another statistic.

By statute it is illegal to text and drive:

Sec. 602b. (1) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person shall not read, manually type, or send a text message on a wireless 2-way communication device that is located in the person’s hand or in the person’s lap, including a wireless telephone used in cellular telephone service or personal communication service, while operating a motor vehicle that is moving on a highway or street in this state.

What does it mean to use a cell phone under the act?

  • Using a phone with one hand
  • Dialing or answering a phone if even one finger is needed. This means that if you can answer your phone through your car’s capabilities then it’s likely not illegal under the act.
  • Any action that requires the driver to leave the seated position. This is like you turning around to get your phone from the back of your car.

There are limited circumstances where it’s ok to use your phone:

  • Report a traffic accident, medical emergency, or serious road hazard.
  • Report a situation in which the person believes his or her personal safety is in jeopardy.
  • Report or avert the perpetration or potential perpetration of a criminal act against the individual or another person.
  • Carry out official duties as a police officer, law enforcement official, member of a paid or volunteer fire department, or operator of an emergency vehicle.

An individual who violates this section is responsible for a civil infraction and shall be ordered to pay a civil fine as follows:

  • For a first violation, $100.00.
  • For a second or subsequent violation, $200.00.

Having defended car, motorcycle, and truck accidents in Michigan over the last 30 years, we’ve seen horrific accidents and their terrible effects. We defend drivers injured in Detroit, Metro Detroit, and their surrounding areas. If you’ve been injured and need a traffic accident lawyer, then our firm is here for you.

We use our blog as a way to educate and limit the injuries we so often defend. We are here for you when you need us most.

Drive safe, and avoid your cellphone. It’s the law!

If you have been injured in any type of accident, contact us immediately by phone or email. You pay nothing until we take your case to trial or settle. With over 30 years of litigation experience representing the “little guy” against the largest insurance companies, corporations, and hospitals, we’ll get you the money you deserve.

Visit our website to find out more information on the services we provide and why we have been named Michigan Super Lawyers for the last six years and Dbusiness’s Top Lawyers for the last three. Whatever your accident or injury, we are ready to Win Your Case!

Call us at 1-888-GOODWIN (466-3946)

Email Scott Goodwin

TOP