Is it Illegal to Drive without a Horn in Michigan?
Yes, it is absolutely against the law to drive without a properly working horn in Michigan:
Sec. 706. (a) A motor vehicle, including a motorcycle or moped, when operated upon a highway shall be equipped with a horn in good working order and capable of emitting sound audible under normal conditions from a distance of not less than 200 feet but a horn or other warning device shall not emit an unreasonably loud or harsh sound or a whistle. The driver of a motor vehicle shall when reasonably necessary to insure safe operation give audible warning with his horn but shall not otherwise use the horn when upon a highway.
(b) A vehicle shall not be equipped with nor shall a person use upon a vehicle a siren, whistle, or bell, except as otherwise permitted in this section.
• Your horn should be audible at a distance of 200 ft. or greater
• It must be in good working order
• It should not emit an unreasonably loud or harsh sound
This is a basic function that you need whenever driving your car. Failure to use your horn could be submitted as evidence of negligence if you’ve been sued in a Michigan car accident claim.
A car horn can protect you from vehicles that merge without looking. It can tell another driver that the light is green. It can even protect you from a suspicious person approaching your vehicle. The bottom line is that you need it.
We use our blog as a place to update you about the law and give you tips to avoid potential liability. Our goal is reduce the very injuries that we often defend. Stay tuned…
Did you know that our firm has been handling Michigan car, motorcycle, snowmobile, truck, and bus accidents in the Detroit and the Metro Detroit areas over the last 30 years?
Our Southfield personal injury firm handles any and all injuries: we service Birmingham, Dearborn, Flint, West Bloomfield, Keego Harbor, Royal Oak, and their respective surrounding areas.