Personal Injury Facts and Stories | Goodwin & Scieszka

The short of it is yes, as a Michigan business you owe the highest duty of care to your customers. Invitees, i.e. paying customers, need to be protected from unreasonable harms. What are examples of unreasonable harms that could lead to a slip and fall type of injury? • Broken sidewalks • Wet floors •

In Michigan, a business owner owes a reasonable duty of care to anyone that’s considered an invitee. The duty is best characterized to protect against any unreasonable risk of harm that’s caused by a dangerous condition. Who or what’s an invitee? An invitee is almost anyone that’s invited on the premise. It doesn’t have to

The family was from Shipshewana, Indiana and they were involved a horse and buggy accident that took place in Sturgis, Michigan. Lavon Kepp, age 30, was driving the buggy. Him and the infant suffered only minor injuries as a result of the crash that occurred on Fawn Rd., west of South Centerville Road in Sturgis.

Yes, if you’re on the highway, then you have to signal. It’s the law: And just so you know, highway means all of Michigan’s roadways. That’s how it’s written in the statute. Sec. 648. (1) The driver of a vehicle or bicycle upon a highway, before stopping or turning from a direct line, shall first

Yesterday’s storms left thousands of Michigan residents without power. Roads are fully submerged under rainwater. 60 mile per hour winds knocked over trees. In an effort to keep all drivers and road maintenance workers safe, Goodwin & Scieszka asks you to obey all traffic signals, to drive slowly, and to stay calm in slow conditions.

Keeping to our wintery themed blogs this week, we want to give you some basic information about snowmobiles in the state of Michigan. First things first, you’re going to need a snowmobile. A snowmobile is defined, according to our legislature, as any motor-driven vehicle designed for travel primarily on snow or ice of a type

People, it seems obvious but this definitely negligent and against the law. As the title says, a woman in Green Oak Township let her 9 year-old drive her 2002 Mercury Sable. The woman was taken to jail and charges are pending. What’s the legal driving age in Michigan? 16 years old. According to the secretary

Larry Calvin Burton was trying to cross the street in in Walker, Michigan at Wilson Avenue and Chesterfield Blvd. when a car hit him. The woman driving the car was a 17 year old from Grand Rapids. Burton was then hit by a second vehicle and dragged for almost 3 miles. Police were called and

October is a time for apple cider, doughnuts, corn mazes, and hayrides. The last thing anyone expects is to get injured from being thrown off a hayride, but that’s exactly what happened in Milford, Michigan just a few days ago. A tractor trailer at Camp Dearborn, a recreational facility that provides family-friendly events year-round, tipped

Michigan’s governor wants to substantially change how auto insurance is administered in Michigan. Michigan is currently a No-Fault state, which means that you’re required to buy insurance and your insurer is responsible for insuring you if you’re injured. According to Snyder: “I’m hoping people can come to the table from the various parties and say,

TOP