Reckless Driving in Michigan
What does it mean to drive recklessly?
In Michigan, if you drive with a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of others, then you could be guilty of a misdemeanor: imprisoned for not more than 93 days, fined $500, or both.
If you cause serious bodily injury to another person as a result of reckless driving, then you could be charged with a felony: imprisoned not more than 5 years, fined no less than $1,000, or both.
If you kill someone because you were driving recklessly then you could also be charged with a felony, but the consequences are the most severe: imprisoned for not more than 15 years, fined not less $2,500 or more than $10,000, or both.
Below are some of the major parts of Michigan’s reckless driving statute:
Sec. 626. (1) A person who violates this section is guilty of reckless driving punishable as provided in this section.
(2) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a person who operates a vehicle upon a highway or a frozen public lake, stream, or pond or other place open to the general public, including, but not limited to, an area designated for the parking of motor vehicles, in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days or a fine of not more than $500.00, or both.
(3) Beginning October 31, 2010, a person who operates a vehicle in violation of subsection (2) and by the operation of that vehicle causes serious impairment of a body function to another person is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 5 years or a fine of not less than $1,000.00 or more than $5,000.00, or both.
(4) Beginning October 31, 2010, a person who operates a vehicle in violation of subsection (2) and by the operation of that vehicle causes the death of another person is guilty of a felony punishable by imprisonment for not more than 15 years or a fine of not less than $2,500. 00 or more than $10,000.00, or both. The judgment of sentence may impose the sanction permitted under section 625n. If the vehicle is not ordered forfeited under section 625n, the court shall order vehicle immobilization under section 904d in the judgment of sentence.
(5) In a prosecution under subsection (4), the jury shall not be instructed regarding the crime of moving violation causing death.
Our firm wants to remind all of Michigan’s drivers to share the road, keep your phone down, and keep your distance from the car in front of you. Reckless driving kills and we don’t want you or anyone you know to be a another statistic.
Our firm has been defending injured drivers in the Detroit and Metro Detroit areas for over 30 years. If you’ve been injured in a car, motorcycle, or truck accident because someone else was driving recklessly, then contact our firm today and get the recovery that you deserve.