Woman Lets Her 9-Year-Old Son Drive with a 5-Year-Old Passenger
People, it seems obvious but this definitely negligent and against the law. As the title says, a woman in Green Oak Township let her 9 year-old drive her 2002 Mercury Sable. The woman was taken to jail and charges are pending.
What’s the legal driving age in Michigan? 16 years old.
According to the secretary of state, the earliest that a person can drive a car is 14 years and 9 months old. The to-be-driver must apply for a Michigan level 1 learner’s license:
In Michigan, a learner’s permit is referred to as a Level 1 Learner’s License. To obtain your learner’s license, you must be at least 14 years and 9 months old and have completed Segment 1 of an approved Driver’s Ed course (see above).
You’ll need to visit your local Secretary of State (SOS) office with your parent or guardian, and present the following:
- Your birth certificate.
- Proof of Social Security number.
- Segment 1 Driver’s Ed completion certificate.
- Two documents proving Michigan residency.
NOTE: If you do not have one of these documents, your parent/legal guardian will need to provide verification for you.
Fill out the driver’s license application with your parent/guardian’s signature, and you will be issued your Level 1 learner’s license (there is no fee).
With your Level 1 learner’s license, you may now begin supervised driving practice with a licensed adult 21 years old or older. During this time, and before beginning Segment 2 of Driver’s Ed, you will need to:
- Hold your Level 1 license for at least 3 months.
- Complete at least 30 hours of behind-the-wheel training, including 2 hours at night.
Once you have met the above requirements, you may begin Segment 2 of Driver’s Ed, and continue your behind-the-wheel training. Including the previous 30 hours of driving, you will need to complete a total of 50 hours, with 10 hours being driven at night. You can download the Driving Skills Test Study Guide (Form SOS-360), which includes a 50-hour driving log to record your hours.
You will need to carry your Level 1 license for at least 6 months before applying for level 2.
You should check the Michigan.gov website for the rest of the requirements necessary to obtain driving licensure in Michigan.
Goodwin & Scieszka handles all types of Michigan car, motorcycle, and trucking accidents in Detroit and Metro Detroit. We are compassionate for your injuries and tough on your competitors. Our firm is a personal injury law firm located in Southfield, Michigan that’s been fighting for you for over 30 years.
We use our blog as a place to educate and inform. Check back often for more news stories, tips to avoid accidents, and updates about the law.