Innovation Law School Scholarship | Goodwin & Scieszka
Goodwin & Scieszka Innovation Scholarship
The Law Offices of Goodwin & Scieszka, an AV preeminent rated firm by Martindale-Hubbell®, has been happy to provide almost 30 years of legal service to victims of car accidents, dog bites, birth trauma, and medical malpractice. After nearly three decades of providing pro bono work with our annual Law Day, we have fitted over ten thousand free bike helmets, distributed free smoke detectors, and dispensed free legal advice as a way to give back to the community. Now we are pleased to support the future lawyers of America with the Goodwin & Scieszka Innovation Scholarship, awarded to three high-achieving, bright students intending to pursue a career in law.

With a grand prize of $1,000 and two runners-up receiving $500 each, the Innovation Scholarship will be accepting applications from current students attending either an accredited law school or an accredited university in the United States. Applicants will be judged on their academic merits as well as the content of the application essay they provide. Applications are due by June 5, 2020. Winners will be announced on or after July 1, 2020.

Deadline – June 5th, 2020

1st place award Runner up award Runner up award
1st place Runner-up Runner-up
$1,000 $500 $500

Essay Topics

Please choose one of the following prompts provided for your essay. Essays must be between 500 and 1000 words.

  1. How do we break society of the perception that the attorneys who spend the most on advertising are the best attorneys for their case?
  2. “Trial by media” has been a concern for attorneys for decades. How does the newer “trial by social media” impact the future of the legal profession?


  • Applicant must be either a current law student at an accredited law school within the U.S. or at an accredited undergraduate university planning to attend law school.
  • Applicants must have a minimum 2.8 GPA.
  • Applicants must submit a copy of their transcript.

Terms and Conditions

How to Apply

To apply for the 2020 Goodwin & Scieszka Innovation Scholarship, please fill out our online application to the right!

Or download our application form and mail a hard copy to our office.

Scott Goodwin Personal Injury Attorney Michigan

Good luck!

2020 Application Form

Fill out my online form.

2020 Innovation Scholarship Winners

1st Place

Billy Michaca
St. John’s University School of Law

2nd Place

Levertis Davis III
Texas A&M University – Kingsville

3rd Place

Abigail Hall
Howard University

2019 Innovation Scholarship Winners

1st Place

Will Stupski
Duke University Law School

2nd Place

Gabren Webb
New York University School of Law

3rd Place

Celine Rodriguez
Stetson University College of Law

2018 Innovation Scholarship Winners

1st Place

Raven Burnett
George Washington University

2nd Place

Christopher Caudill
University of Houston Law Center

3rd Place

Mercedes Landry
University of Houston

2017 Innovation Scholarship Winners

1st Place

Kelsie McKee
University of Portland

2nd Place

Joseph Avery
Princeton / Columbia University School of Law

3rd Place

Raquel Baier
University of Arizona

2016 Innovation Scholarship Winners

1st Place

Christopher Shook
University of Pittsburgh Law School


2nd Place

Mike Contillo, Jr.
Harvard Law School


3rd Place

Alaina Wilson
Stetson University College of Law