Free Legal Tips & Information | Goodwin & Scieszka

The Michigan Senate approved two new bills last Thursday: 1) would allow car companies to test self-driving cars on public roads, and 2) puts an expiration date on your license plate. Remember, these are not new laws, yet. They are still proposals that must be approved by the governor and Michigan’s House of Representatives. As

Keeping to our wintery themed blogs this week, we want to give you some basic information about snowmobiles in the state of Michigan. First things first, you’re going to need a snowmobile. A snowmobile is defined, according to our legislature, as any motor-driven vehicle designed for travel primarily on snow or ice of a type

Yes, and since this week feels like winter, we think that it’s important to talk about the necessity of driving without having snow obstruct your windows. Why? Because it’s the law. Earlier today, I saw my neighbor pull out of his driveway and he didn’t give his car ample time to heat up. His entire

What do you know, it’s that time of year again. I walked outside to get into my car last night and there was snow on the grass, ice on my car, and people were driving with caution. Is this Michigan winter going to be a flop like last year’s or are we in for it?

If you’re driving in Michigan, then you don’t have to worry that you’ll be stopped at a DUI investigative checkpoint. Why? Well the Michigan Supreme Court has given more protection to its citizens than the Supreme Court of the United States. The Supreme Court ruled that DUI checkpoints are legal searches in terms of the

When you come to a stop sign, you are obligated to come to a complete stop. You need to stop before entering the crosswalk or intersection. Though often overlooked, ensuring that you stop BEFORE the crosswalk significantly reduces your likelihood of a pedestrian-car accident: (6) Stop signs. Except when directed to proceed by a police

People, it seems obvious but this definitely negligent and against the law. As the title says, a woman in Green Oak Township let her 9 year-old drive her 2002 Mercury Sable. The woman was taken to jail and charges are pending. What’s the legal driving age in Michigan? 16 years old. According to the secretary

Last week, Sen. Tupac Hunter introduced a bill that would require all of Michigan’s registered vehicles to have 2 license plates: one in the front and one in the rear. Why? It cuts down on crime because it makes every car more identifiable. Currently there are 32 other states that require dual license plates. Ohio

I believe the children are our future Teach them well and let them lead the way Show them all the beauty they possess inside Give them a sense of pride to make it easier Let the children’s laughter remind us how we used to be – Whitney Houston Goodwin & Scieszka wants to remind all

People often forget that in Michigan it’s illegal to text and drive. Did you know, according to the National Safety Council, that nearly 3 million people are injured in automobile accidents each year? That’s nearly 1 accident every minute. Texting and driving is a substantial cause of these accidents, and Goodwin & Scieszka doesn’t want

TOP